

BUSHENYI DISTRICT LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Staff Grievance Consultative Committee Rules and Procedures for Bushenyi District Local Government

This document gives guidance to the employees of Bushenyi District Local government on the rules and procedures to follow when lodging a complaint against any other public officer or other employee of the public service.

1. The aggrieved, shall report the grievance or complaint to his or her immediate supervisor or to his or her union representative, and the one you report to will prepare a memorandum setting out the grievance or complaint and submit it to the secretary of the district grievance Consultative Committee and the other party affected by the grievance or complaint shall receive a copy of the memorandum.

Note that the secretary of the committee is the Principal Human Resource Officer.

- 2. The secretary of the committee shall do the following;
 - (i) Shall register the grievance or complaint
 - (ii) Shall notify the other party to the grievance, the chairperson of the committee plus other members of the committee about the grievance by furnishing each of them with a copy of the grievance or complaint
 - (iii) In consultation with the chairperson, a date will be set for the hearing of the grievance or complaint, which shall not

be earlier than fourteen working days after the notification in paragraph (ii), and circulate the hearing date to the other party of the grievance and to all the members of the committee.

- (iv) The other party to the grievance or complaint will be called upon to prepare and submit the reply to grievance or complaint to the secretary not later than four working days before the hearing date.
- (v) The aggrieved party may use the suggestion box which is at the reception in Bushenyi district Local Government administration, to submit a complaint and it must be owned/signed by the complainant with date on which it was submitted.

Also note that;

- The Consultative Committee meets quarterly
- The Grievance Consultative Committee for Bushenyi District Local Government is chaired by the Chief Administrative Officer, but has a mandate to select a staff in a higher position to chair meetings on his behalf. Currently, the Principal Commercial Officer Sharon Nahabwe chairs the meetings.
- The Secretary is the Principal Human Resource Officer Ms Nakayenga Pauline. In case the secretary is not around, the committee selects someone to act as secretary from Human Resource Unit.

S/N	NAME	RESPONSIBILITY
1	Ms Nahabwe Sharon	Principal Commercial
		Officer/Committee Chairperson
2	Ms Nakayenga Pauline	Principal Human Resource
		Officer/Committee Secretary
3	Ms Busiisi Jovanice	Communication
		Officer/Committee Focal
		Person/Member
4	Ms Tushabe Florence	Chairperson Uganda Nurses and
		Midwives Union
5	Mr Musinguzi Alexon	Chairperson Uganda National
		Teachers 'Association
6	Mr Tushabe Gregory	Chairperson Uganda Health
		Workers Association
7	Mr Matigi Michael	Chairperson National Union of
		Government of Allied Workers
8	Ms Nyakato Enid	Treasurer Uganda Nurses and
		Midwives Union
9	Mr Bamusiime Dickson	District Planner/Member
10	Ms Atukwasa Loyce	Labor Officer/Member
11	Mr Ahabwe William	Principal Inspector of
		schools/Member.

✤ The committee has eleven members (11) and these include;

✤ Two-thirds of the members constitute a quorum for a meeting

The Committee and its members are obliged to ensure confidentiality and to operate without bias or favor.

Nahabwe Sharon Principal Commercial Officer Chairperson Nakayenga Pauline Principal HRO/ Secretary